dotNetDave Story: The Critical Importance of Addressing Performance Before Product Release

Below is a true story I’d like to share about the importance of addressing performance before the release of a product or update!

I once worked for a company in San Diego, California. About four months before the product release, I raised concerns to management about performance issues that could impact the release. Despite my warnings, the lead architect brushed it off, saying we could address it later. I couldn’t believe what I was hearing. I emphasized that ignoring the issue could result in customer loss and difficulty attracting new ones. Unfortunately, my predictions came true. About four months after release, efforts to improve performance began, but during my time there, they never succeeded. This underscores the importance of addressing performance issues during coding and before release—it’s critical for the product’s success.

For more tips about performance on dotNetTips.com, use this link: https://bit.ly/CodeAppPerformance

You can also pick up the latest version of my code performance book by going here: https://bit.ly/CodePerf3

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.