Coding Standards Survey (2016): Taking Over Someone’s Code

Have you ever taking over someone’s code? Did you enjoy this experience? When I ask this question in my conference sessions, I usually see 90% of hands go up. I also see many pained looks and hear groans. The next question I ask is what is the first thing you want to do after taking over someone else’s code and the usually the answer is… rewrite it!

I would venture to guess that most companies would not allow this to be done since it takes away from writing new features. The first time I had to take over someone else’s code I didn’t ask my boss, I just did it during some down time after the first release of our product.

This is why it’s very important to always implement and follow great coding standards. My book is the first step in that direction.

CS-Someones Code

To see more results, go to the first post in this series.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.