Food for Thought: Silos and Being Defensive of Your Code

On June 10th, 2022 I was a guest on the Growth and Mindset show on C# Corner Live. The host, Mahesh Chand and I talked about the dangers of teams working as silos at companies.

We also talked about developers that are overly defensive about their code which means they will not take direction on how to improve it. They also might go running to your boss telling them that you are being “threatening”, which happened to me at a recent company.

Here is a clip from those discussions.

My manager at this same company also told me that I am not allowed to talk about my writing, my books, my show, being a Microsoft MVP, etc., since it hurts the developer’s feelings. Obviously, I no longer work there.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.