Coding Standards Survey (2016)

From 2014 to 2015 I conducted my first coding standards survey to find out what companies are doing to make sure they are following guidelines. I am publishing the results in a series of blog posts, with this being the first one. Also, 2015 was the 10th anniversary of my .NET Coding Standards book and conference session.

Does Your Team Practice Coding Standards?

This is the first question on the survey. The results were 73.5% said they do practice coding standards and 26.5% said they don’t. I am surprised by this result because most companies I work at do not practice coding standards with the same for people who come to my conference session. Of course after I work at most companies they do practice coding standards with the basis of those standards being my book. At my last full-time job, every developer in the department got a copy of my book, even if they worked in India.

To pick up a copy of my coding standards book or my Rock Your Code DVD (which has my coding standards conference session), go here.

Here are the rest of the results:

Thanks to all that have taken this survey and providing input. I hope you will participate by going to: http://bit.ly/Standards2016

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.