MVP Summit 2016 – My Issues For The Teams

This year will be the 10th year I have gone to Microsoft to attend the annual MVP Summit. This is the one conference I look forward to all year. My favorite part of the summit is to interact directly with the difference teams at the Microsoft campus because they really do listen to us… well most of the time. For example, there are features in Visual Studio that came from me.

So, every year I bring to the teams what we like and what we’d like to see changed. For the last two years, I even had meetings with the Office team, but I’m giving up on that this year. I have a lot to discuss with the following teams.

Azure Team

I have a brand new conference talk titled “Rock Your Development With A Real World Example” that is all about how I properly architected an app in Azure. From that experience, mostly frustrating, came the following.

WebJobs

  1. Does not stay alive unless switched to Azure Standard Plan or above.
    1. If not, it will just disappear when Azure determines when it’s not in use.
      1. No log message on why/ when it disappears.
  2. token.IsCancellationRequested never seems to gets set to true when job shuts down.
  3. It’s 2016, we need better error messages than this!
    1. Job failed due to exit code -2146232576
  4. Need to support latest .NET Framework they day they are released, not 6+ months later!
  5. Some documentation is non-existent!
  6. No support to trap unhandled exceptions like you can in all the other application frameworks. Since WebJobs are really console apps, this very important event needs to be added.

I’d also like to see the Azure MVP monthly credit to roll over to the next month if not used. This way I won’t have to worry about leaving VM’s running when not in use.

Azure Mobile App

I really wanted to use Azure Mobile App service3 in my solution, but couldn’t due to the flowing.

  1. No tooling for clients.
  2. Does not fully support OData.
  3. Not ready for prime time.

Entity Framework Team

When it’s up to me, Entity Framework is the only database access framework I use in .NET. I’ve never looked back since it came out in 2008. Here are some of the issues I found or features I’d like.

  • EF7 or EF Core is not ready for prime time. Maybe should stay in pre-release until it is.
  • Create menu items in VS extension to create/ push migrations
  • Would be nice to get db path from LocalDB!
  • Obsolete ITableData since it does not properly implement the Id field (is a string and should be a GUID).
    • EF does not seem to support this interface anyway, but it should… well a better interface.

ASP.NET

For this project I decided that I would use WebForms in ASP.NET. Sure, not sexy, but works great and is fast to get going. Here are my comments.

  • ASP.NET Core not ready for prime time.
  • Reporting Services report does not work with EF6.

Visual Studio Team

Here are just some of the issues/ features I’d like the Visual Studio team to consider.

  1. Make it easy to remove unused references/ NuGet packages.
  2. Visual Studio needs to gen code that passes their own tools like StyleCop and Analyze!
  3. VS running on Azure VM’s need to get a lot faster! Sometimes it can take 15 minutes for VS to fully bring up a project. Seems to happen only with the first solution that is started after the VM boots.
  4. EntityDataSource control needs to support EF projections
  5. Visual Studio Analyze/ StyleCop needs to ignore folders like Migrations
  6. Need true workflow in Visual Studio that actually works
  7. Visual Studio Analyze needs to recognize Code Contracts

If you have anything you would like for me to discuss with the teams above, please make a comment below before November 7th. I encourage Microsoft teams to make comments too.

Feedback

December 14th, 2016

Before going to Microsoft, I tweeted the heck out of this blog post… to Microsoft. While I was at Microsoft, I spoke to people there about this post and even sent it via email to many people on the .NET teams.

It’s been over a month since I’ve was at Microsoft and unfortunately I have not heard from anyone at Microsoft about any of these issues. I will keep bugging them.

Leave a Reply

